## Don MacTavish Award

One of the most prestigious awards in Northeast Stock Car Racing, the Don MacTavish Memorial Award is annually presented to someone who, through their efforts and attitude, best exemplifies the dedicaton to Stock Car Racing once held



by the late Don MacTavish; the Dover, Massachuestts-native, 1966 NASCAR Late Model Sportsman National Champion and 1967 NASCAR Modified National Champion runner-up who was tragically killed at Daytona International Speedway in Febuary 1969 en route to a meteoric rise to the highest levels of Stock Car Racing after years of dedication, and hundreds of races, at the grassroots level.



Year	Winner	Role (at time of Receiving Award)
1969	William "Bill" H.G. France, Sr.	Founder and President of NASCAR
1970	John Gammell	Former Vermont State Champion
1971	Tom Tiller	Former Vermont State LMS Champion
1972	Ken Squier	Founder of Thunder Road, Catamount and Motor Racing Network
1973	The Howard Bank	Longtime Supporter & Sponsor of Vermont Racing
1974	Jean-Paul Cabana	Multi-time Catamount Stadium, Northern NASCAR Champion
1975	A.H. "Archie" Blackadar	Longtime Vermont and NASCAR Racing Official
1976	Stanley "Stub" Fadden	Longtime Driver, Thunder Road, Catamount and Northern NASCAR Winner
1977	Clarence "C.A." Crouch	Legendary Car Owner, Father of Robbie Crouch
1978	Gardiner & June Leavitt	Longtime Racer and Car Owner
1979	Harmon "Beaver" Dragon	Multi-time Champion, 1st NASCAR North Tour Champion
1980	Dr. Gordon R. "Doc" Nielsen	Longtime NASCAR Chief Scorer
1981	Tom Curley	Promoter of Thunder Road, Catamount Stadium and NASCAR North Tour
1982	Molson Brewery	NASCAR North Title Sponsor
1983	Bobby Dragon	Multi-time Northern NASCAR Champion
1984	Francis "Bubby" Wilder	Multi-Decade Thunder Road, Catamount, NASCAR Chief Steward
1985	Dick Willett	Longtime NASCAR Chief Starter
1986	Milt & Diana Wright	Longtime Racers and Fixtures of Vermont Racing
1987	Darla Ripley & David Paris	Former ACT Vice President (Ripley) and ACT Media Director (Paris)
1988	Robbie Crouch	Multi-time NASCAR North & ACT Champion
1989	Stan Meserve	Longtime Maine Racer and Former ACT Chief Technical Inspector
1990	Claude Leclerc	ACT's 'Iron Man' Racing Every Event from 1979-1995
1991	Dan Beede	Former Milk Bowl Winner and ACT Chief Technical Inspector
1992	Don Fillion	Former Burlington Free Press Sports Journalist
1993	Dave Moody	Longtime ACT Announcer, Print and Radio Journalist
1994	Bill Fitzgerald	Longtime Representitive of Goodyear Tire, Fixture in ACT
1995	Wardie Hamilton	Veteran Crew Chief
1996	Jean-Paul Cyr	Muli-time American-Canadian Tour Champion
1997	Dave Whitcomb	1st ACT Late Model Tour Champion, Fixture at Thunder Road and Airborne Speedway
1998	Mike Wilder	Longtime ACT, Thunder Road Chief Starter
1999	Cris Michaud	Multi-time Thunder Road Champion, Helped Develop 'Spec' Motor Program
2000	Brian Hoar	Multi-time ACT, Thunder Road and Airborne Speedway Champion
2001	Pete Duto	Veteran Crew Chief, Car Builder and FastOne Motorsports Owner
2002	Dave MacMaster	Owner of Butler & MacMaster Race Engines, Helped Develop 'Spec' Motor Program
2003	Smith "Smitty" McKay	Longtime Thunder Road Car Owner
2004	Joey Laquerre	Multi-time Thunder Road Champion, Former Owner of Speedway 51
2005	Phil Scott	Multi-time Thunder Road and Former ACT Champion, 82nd Governor of Vermont
2006	Dean Gallison	ACT Director of Competition
2007	Jamie Fisher	Former Thunder Road Champion, Longtime ACT Supporter
2008	Brent Dragon	Longtime ACT Supporter, Former Airborne Champion, VT Milk Bowl Winner
2009	New Hampshire Motor Speedway	1.058-Mile NASCAR Speedway Hosted the 1st ACT Invitational in 2009
2010	Donald Theetge	Former Serie-ACT Champion
2011	Jimmy Linardy	Longtime American-Canadian Tour Fixture
2012	Richard Green	Multi-time Thunder Road Late Model Champion Car Owner
2013	Dennis and Louis Larue	Owners of Larue Industrial Snowblowers, Longtime Supporters of Short Track Racing
2014	Joey Polewarczyk, Jr.	Former ACT Champion, Youngest Champion and Winner in ACT History
2015	Speedway Safety Service	Safety Service Providers for Multiple New England Racetracks including Thunder Road
2016	Shayne Sweet	ACT Late Model Tour and Thunder Road Championship Crew Chief
2018	Joey Becker	Former Racer and Master Fabricator
2019	Dean Gallison	For Assisting Cris Michaud and Pat Malone with Thunder Road Transition
2020	Chuck and Fran Beede	Longtime Fixtures of Thunder Road and ACT
2021	Arnold Hill	Longtime Privates of Hander Road and ACT  Longtime Driver and Car Owner in Vermont and with ACT
2022	Richard 'Biggy' Bigelow	Former Racer, 25-Year Caldonian Record 'Strap In' Columnst
2023	John Wall, Sr.	Accompished Road Racer, Longtime Car Owner and Sponsor
2023	John Wall, Jr.	Accompliance Your Nacer, Longuine Car Owner and Sponsor